It is ‘Memory Monday’ again.  Today, I am going to tell you a story about my Aunt Bill. (Bill was a nickname, her real name was Lillian.)  She was the funniest person I have ever known, also the wisest.  But seriously, she should have been a comic.  Everything she said was usually said with humor.  She was a snuff-dipper also, so she always had a spit-cup of some kind around.  I tell you all this to let you know that she was a card.  Me, Mom, Aunt Bill and her daughter-in-law all flew out to Buffalo, New York to visit Mom and Aunt Bill’s sister.  This was the first time that Aunt Bill had ever flown, and this was the late ’70’s.  After the first leg of our flight, Aunt Bill could hear nothing.  Her ears wouldn’t pop at all.  I was chewing gum and told her she should try a piece, thinking maybe it would help. She took the piece I was chewing instead of a new piece!  LOL It didn’t help at all.  The whole time we were in New York, she couldn’t hear and appeared half startled every time you said something to her.  On the way home, the stewardess was telling us what the choices were for the in-flight meal.  She looked at him attentively while he was speaking, and when he was through, she looked at me and said, “What did he say?”  LOL  I told her the choices and she and I both chose tuna salad.  When it came it was presented with a black olive on top.  She immediately ate it, then turned to me and said, “Don’t eat the berry.  It’s rotten!”  LOL  (She had never seen or heard of a black olive!)  That was my Aunt Bill.  How I miss her. 

Leave a Reply

